Virginia Tech® home

FYE Council

Formed in 2019, the FYE Council is dedicated to supporting the FYE faculty community of practice and helping the Office of First-Year Experiences provide professional development opportunities. 

Faculty Council Members 2022-23

Name Title Department
Herbert Bruce Assistant Professor of Practice for Undergraduate Education Department of Food Science and Technology
Kirsten Dean High-Impact Practices Librarian University Libraries
Renee Eaton Undergraduate Program Director Department of Human Nutrition, Foods, and Exercise
Juan Ortega Alvarez Assistant Collegiate Professor Department of Engineering Education
Howard Haines Assistant Professor of Practice Pamplin College of Business Department of Management
Alma Robinson Advanced Instructor/Teacher-in-Residence Department of Physics
Buddy Howell Advanced Instructor School of Communication
Ashley Peele Avian Ecologist – Research Scientist Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Robert Jacks Director of Academic Advising College of Architecture, Arts, and Design
Matthew Komelski Advanced Instructor Human Development & Family Science
Leigh Anne Leist Associate Director Career and Professional Development
Sarah Bechtel Assistant Director for Advising and Academic Initiatives College of Science
Stephen Biscotte Assistant Provost for Undergraduate Education UAA - Undergraduate Education
Kendria Mason Coordinator, Office of First-Year Experiences UAA - Undergraduate Education
Sherry Anton FYE Program Support Specialist UAA - Undergraduate Education